Skip navigation

Francis and Sophia Coppola for Louis Vuitton

The directors have agreed to pose for Louis Vuitton’s Core Values campaign.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

[Photo from Louis Vuitton]

The collaboration is hardly a surprising match, as Sofia has long been a muse to Vuitton designer Marc Jacobs, and has starred in advertisements for the designer’s eponymous clothing line and perfume.

Speaking to The Times last week, she revealed that this was a factor in her decision to pose for the ads. ‘I’ve known Marc Jacobs since I was 18,’ the Lost in Translation director explained. ‘We had mutual friends and started hanging out together. I remember asking my mom to take me to see Perry Ellis when he was designing there. I still have a box of clothes from that grunge collection somewhere.’

[Taken from MarieClaire]

The Core Values campaign is a deeper look inside the journeys of celebrities and socialites. If you check the Louis Vuitton, the viewer has access to the travel journals of people like Keith Richards or Mikhail Gorbachev. I, for one, have never been so excited to read all the crazy mischief that Mr. Gorbachev might find himself in until LV gave me the option to. That little rascal. Louis Vuitton puts an emphasis on travel as one of its core values. I guess there’s really no other options with luxury luggage. If you’re gonna spend G’s on luggage, you might as well put it to good use. Here is the short movie they made for the campaign. It features a collection of vagabonds and artists who would not usually have the means to afford Louis Vuitton luggage. This is my favorite…

Does the person create the journey?
Or does the journey create the person?
The journey is life itself.

I immediately mouthed, “Aaaaaaaaaaahhh,” when Louis Vuitton opened my eyes to the epiphany that the journey is life itself. I almost left all my worldly possessions and set out on an adventure to discover all the wonders of the earth that the average human would never lay eyes on. And then I remembered that Louis Vuitton is just trying to slang handbags.

The photography is quite impressive.

Here is an incoherent conversation between Francis Coppola and daughter, Sophia, from the Ampersand.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

