Skip navigation

“Welcome to the Slumber Party” Review of SS09: Dolce and Gabbana Men

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I’ve wanted to write this review for a while, but I could not find the words to accurately describe my feelings towards Dolce and Gabbana’s spring/summer ’09 collection. On the one hand, every outfit showcased on the runway looked so damn smooth. All of the clothes were perfectly fitted (as is expected) and the material of the clothing shining from the stage looked like a silky satin.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

On the other hand, the collection was inspired by pyjamas. That was the real kicker for me. A part of me wants to laugh out loud at the concept. When Mr. Dolce and Mr. Gabbana were circled at their design meeting, how did they manage to convince everyone that this was good idea? It almost sounds as ridiculous as when Mugatu announced his Derelicte Campaign (props to Zoolander.) Another part of me is amazed at how they pulled it off. The look is very luxurious and the bold pyjama patterns cannot keep your neck from doing a 180. They even constructed a suit out of silk denim. I don’t think I’ve ever seen silk denim in my life.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

And the most conflicting thing I saw with the collection was drawstring pants. Can drawstring pants outside anything of sleepwear or gym clothes really work? I get that the underlying concept of the line was comfort, but comfort at all costs does not seem like a good idea to base your collection on. If that was the case, I would just wear a pair of Sean John sweats wherever I went. As long as it stays on the runway, it’s acceptable I guess.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Bottom line, the collection was brilliant in that it totally came from left field and looked surprisingly good. Experimentation at its finest.

[Images by Marcio Madeiro for GD]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

