Skip navigation

Fonzworth Bentley Teaches Manners in “From G’s to Gents”

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

[Photo by UptownFlavor]

I grew up in the age of sitcoms. After we were done learning at school, we’d go home and learn in front of the television screen. The subjects were taught in the classroom, but the life-lessons (for the 6-10 year olds) were taught through the boobtube. There was nothing more convenient than having a conflict arise and resolved in a 30-minute time slot. I’m talking about Saved by the Bell, Family Matters, Full House, even the Power Rangers, right here. Was the formula the same for years and years? Yes. Did we grow out of it? Yeah eventually. Did it raise a generation of children with a definitive sense of right and wrong? Most definitely. I miss that type of television, the type of television that acknowledged that it had a responsibility to its viewers. It knew that kids were watching and it took ownership of the fact that it was partly raising the children for 1 or 2 hours a day.

That type of television is long gone. We have now skipped the morality lessons and went straight to depicting the “reality” of the world. And the “reality” is, people on television like to act like they were raised with no sense. Imagine my surprise when I flipped the channel to MTV to see “From G’s To Gents.” But what’s this? It’s hosted by Fonzworth Bentley! I immediately became excited because Fonzworth Bentley is one of the best dressed men I know and he truly is the first gentleman of hip hop. I thought he got lost in the fold. Now of course, another reality show is the last thing that MTV or television, in general, needs. But I really like the ambition of the show. 14 insecure machismo men “G’s” compete with each other in a battle of self-improvement to transform themselves into “Gents.” They will learn the manners and hobbies of a gentleman and the most improved G wins $100,000. It’s better than competing for the love of Flava Flav, New York, or Tila (hard alcohol). The sitcom is dead and reality shows are what’s in. The only compromise is to really try to teach life lessons through reality television. I’m glad that Fonzworth Bentley is still holding television to its moral obligation.

Here’s an interview with Fonzworth Bentley and New York Mag

We’re not going to lie — this show looks amazing. There are so many tears in the trailer alone…

There actually are. But even with all the blubberin’ the idea is to laugh with them, not at them. A lot of these guys, for the first time really, realized their self-worth, and that’s a very emotional thing.

Have you always been a gent?

You know, I didn’t really have much G-dom, if you will. But I can tell you a quick story about how I ended up in etiquette school. When I was young it was a habit of mine to push my food onto my fork. My mama said, “You know if you keep doing that, you’re going to etiquette school.” Sure enough, she sent me to class, and it was freakin’ horrible. Now fast-forward to my sophomore year at Morehouse College. Evin Cosby [Bill’s daughter] was a freshman, and she invited a group of us to her house. Towards the end of dinner, Bill looked over at me and said, “I like the way you use your cutlery.” Man, I didn’t even know he was watchin’! I got up from the table, called my mama, and said, “Mama. Thank you for sending me to etiquette school that summer!” You never know who’s watching.

Who do you think you’ve helped realize their gent potential?

I would definitely say I’ve had some influence on Sean Combs, and he would agree. He’s had some influence on me as well. Y’all saw Diddy before I worked for him. Ya saw him after I worked for him. It is what it is.

[Taken from NYmag]

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 16, 2008 at 3:25 pm | Permalink

    Your header is hilarious 😀

  2. Posted July 17, 2008 at 12:05 am | Permalink

    This reminds of thecharm school thing monique did. I loved that one too! Hopefully this one will be able to positively change some lives as well.

  3. Posted July 17, 2008 at 5:31 am | Permalink

    U r a fashion addict ! If u want, I invite u to come to see some of the most beautiful heels, dresses and bags of the Paris fashion weeks and many more…!

  4. Posted July 17, 2008 at 7:43 am | Permalink

    It’s so true, those shows taught me soooo much! I think he’s doing a good thing, it’s definately a step in the right direction.

  5. Posted July 17, 2008 at 8:58 am | Permalink

    I like the title of his book. Funny!

  6. Posted July 17, 2008 at 9:01 am | Permalink

    thanks for visiting my blog. would u like to link?

  7. Posted July 17, 2008 at 3:03 pm | Permalink

    i may have to recommend that my one housemate who watched television for the rest of us check it out. thanks for the post…


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

