Skip navigation

I want these.

Shiny shoes are in. From the Converse/John Varvatos SS ’09 Collabo.

Photobucket

Photobucket

[Images from Haute Concept]

These shoes take the classic Chuck design and give it a shiny twist. And Varvatos = legit. I prefer the high-tops.

In a related incident, as I was leaving a friend’s house, I was having trouble putting on my black high-top Chucks. Noticing all the energy I was putting into the activity, my friend remarked, “That’s why you get the low-tops.” I had an ah-hah moment right then and there. I have always shied away from low-top chucks because they look like clown shoes on the wrong person and it doesn’t have that 60’s Sandlot look I admire. However, my biases towards low-tops loosened up as I realized that it is partly an option of function and that is a respectable aesthetic in itself.

On a non-related note, I don’t want these: the Mantyhose.

4 Comments

  1. Posted July 29, 2008 at 1:37 am | Permalink

    can’t go wrong with metallic still. they sure will add lots of glam to a casual look.

  2. Posted July 29, 2008 at 4:00 am | Permalink

    Loooove those hi tops! And it’s true, I look like a clown with the low cut ones too!

  3. Posted July 29, 2008 at 6:53 am | Permalink

    I’ve heard some negative remarks about these but I’m with you – I like ’em!

  4. Posted July 29, 2008 at 7:33 am | Permalink

    Great header!! ^_^
    I adore my Converse, nice topic.

    Thanks for your comments. 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

