Skip navigation

I Watched Mad Men Last Night

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

[Photo courtesy of AMC]

But it wasn’t the Season 2 premiere that everyone was hyping up yesterday. With the premiere being 40 minutes away, my roommate and I were looking up why all the fuss. We discovered that we get all of Season 1 of Mad Men on OnDemand! Yes! And while we would’ve been psyched to watch opening night of Season 2, we didn’t want to have any spoilers. So we got everything set up, tuned into OnDemand and started watching away the 1st episode of Season 1 of Mad Men. And my god, I was impressed. I always hear about the 60s being an elegant era, but I only saw these moments in black and white photos. Mad Men really captured the color of the time period. There’s only so much I can say after seeing one episode. One of the most poignant scenes, for me, is when Don Draper changes his shirt in his office and he had a whole stack of dress shirts in one of the drawers of his desk. Who is that prepared these days?

NYTimes’ The Moment interviews designer Janie Bryant, costume designer for Mad Men, and person responsible for all the show’s sartorial accolades…

When I read Alex Witchel’s story in The Times Magazine last month, I loved that Matthew Weiner, the series creator, calls himself a “control freak.” Is there any creative tension on set?

He has a very specific idea about some things, and we’ll have discussions about it. When he has a clear image in his mind about what he wants to see, I love to give that to him and bring something else to it. I know how much he cares about details. I’m very similar in my style of working. We have similar tastes. After I have my fittings, I’ll take pictures and show him the photos of my favorite pieces. Usually we’ll look at the pictures and he’ll be laughing. He can see the visual, three-dimensional person in living color. The character comes to life.

Where do the clothes come from?

I designed for a lot of the principal characters and I’ll build for them. We do rentals, and then I’ll also buy pieces from vintage stores. It really is a mixture of everything. I would love to design for the entire show, but it would take so much time, not to mention expensive.

What about your own personal style? Any influence there?

I change my outfit several times throughout the day. I’ll have on big bobbles that are chartreuse. I’ll put on a big brooch. I change it up throughout the day. People say I’m the most dressed-up person on set.

[Read the rest at The Moment]

4 Comments

  1. Posted July 28, 2008 at 6:25 pm | Permalink

    Sounds great! I have been intrigued by this show for a while, but I wasn’t sure if I would be into it at all. I know I would be into the costumes though!

  2. Posted July 29, 2008 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    I’ve been dying to see this show…wonder if it’s on Netflix yet?!

  3. Posted July 29, 2008 at 10:50 am | Permalink

    Everyone’s talking about it. I HAVE to check it out.

  4. Posted July 29, 2008 at 5:04 pm | Permalink

    i couldve told u it was ondemand.

    are you addicted yet?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

