Skip navigation

“Best of Both Worlds”: Mini Market Opening Reception at Silverman Gallery/Look Boutique

Photobucket

Cue the Jay-Z/ R. Kelly music. Or cue the sounds of Hannah Montana/ Miley Cyrus a.k.a. the Ninny Popper.

Photobucket

The other day I drove myself to Sutter St., spent 30 minutes finding parking, paralleled my vehicle to the curb, and walked myself 6 blocks all the way to Jones St. to reach the Silverman Gallery/Look Boutique in San Francisco. When I arrived with about one hour left of the event, there were HORDES of people there. Ok, not hordes, but there was a huge flea market style stand in the middle of a 12×12 room. And out of the stand, the shopgirls slang pop art products that were much nicer than your ordinary swap meet heat transfer T-shirts.

I must admit, I was a bit confused with what was going on in the first couple minutes. My first question was, “Why does this space have two names?” After finally mustering enough courage to meet the owners and curators of the event, I found my answers. Jessica and Carolina are the ones in charge. Jessica runs the Silverman Gallery and Carolina runs the Look Boutique. Jessica sells the art on the walls and Carolina sells the clothes on the rack. Simple enough. They both conduct their
business separately and work in their own little spaces in the back. I asked Jessica why they decided to hold this event and she replied that her and Carolina have been working at the space separately for such a long time, they decided it was a good time to collaborate. Most roommates just end up fighting over time.

I asked Carolina what was the inspiration behind the pieces being sold at Mini Market, which was a collection of different emerging designers from SF and NY. She said, “[The pieces being sold] are a commentary on consumerism and what people will buy if it is packaged a certain way.” The spirit of caricature was definitely in the room in a good way. Speaking of Ninny Poppin’ Hannah Montana, Carolina was wearing this shirt!

A Ninny Poppin’ Snow White. Provocative

Photobucket

[Seen at Threadtrend]

Here’s a taste of Mini Market…

$800 each

Photobucket

$20

Photobucket

And we ran into some old friends!

Liz and Gabriella of M.I.S.S. CREW! Fly chiquititas.

Photobucket

Homme a.k.a. MaleUgly of Everybody is Ugly and Heart Attack City!

Photobucket

Guess who’s the most excited to be in these pictures. Does no one smile wide anymore? I guess I gotta work on that modelin’ stuff. I also met Sydney Pfaff in person!

I bought this badge at the event because it reminded me of Balenciaga. I don’t remember the last time I had an impulse buy.

Photobucket

Mini Market is at the Silverman Gallery, 804 Sutter St., San Francisco, and ends on Aug. 30.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

