Skip navigation

LA Times on the Topic of Jeans

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The LA Times image section dedicated a whole chunk of their article space to the subject of jeans. I don’t remember jeans going anywhere, but I guess that means its lasting power is reason enough to dedicate something to it.

Here’s what I learned…

Designers are starting to carry selvedge denim.

What is selvidge denim? It is denim that is more expensive to produce, making it the envy of anyone with no money.

The peg and roll style is coming back for women.

What is the peg and roll style? As seen on the likes of Katie Holmes, it is where you where a looser-type pair of jeans and roll up the pant legs to the calf or ankles, revealing a woman’s fab pair of shoes. It is no longer confined to bikers and butch women.

Premium jeans makers are now making jeans for Big Momma’s House.

Before they only made jeans for the skinny. Now they make jeans for the opposite of skinny.

I DID NOT LEARN how to make a jeans cut-off skirt.

My friends would have looked at me pretty suspect if I tried to learn this skill, even if there was a good reason, which there aren’t.

Designer jeans maker WILL exploit your need to feel special.

How? They like to employ gimmicks to charge higher prices and make you look like a fool. For example…

Seeking enlightenment and a “divine” derriere? Try the 35th Street jean from Bishop of Seventh. Each pair is blessed by Tibetan monk Geshe Tsultim Gyeltsen with wishes for good health, happiness and prosperity. “I’m not sure exactly what he says because he chants in Tibetan,” says Bishop of Seventh co-founder Chachi Prasad, who worked with Calvin Klein and Oscar de la Renta before he and his wife launched their own collection. “But it takes him about 45 minutes.” And I thought I was the only one who prayed over my jeans to make them fit.

[Source: LA Times]

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 5, 2008 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

    denim. denim. denim. …
    my favorite !!!
    thanks for the comment
    The Dark Knight was amazinggggg 🙂

  2. daniela
    Posted August 15, 2008 at 7:59 am | Permalink

    denim is such a lifesaver. this summer my favorite pair came from house de lux in nyc, they fit so wonderfully and you can wear them anywhere- either in the day time, or out at night.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

