Skip navigation

The Clipse Presents its Playcloths Line

Photobucket

Clipse is one of the few performers that I got to see live in concert. And for people my age, we still remember “Grindin’.” That song woke us up in terms of what can be felt through the bass of an 808. Even though they haven’t had the best of commercial success, I still consider them some of the realest rappers out right now. With their clothing line, Playcloths, coming out soon, it is interesting to see how they’ll do in the fashion world. The rappers are not exactly the first place I’d look for my fashion sense, and their line might be reduced to the fate of most hip-hop clothing brands, to churn out played out T-shirts. But the logo has me intrigued. They decided to use a drawing of a young polished paperboy/equestrian to represent their streetwear brand. Who knows where it will go from there?

4 Comments

  1. Posted August 13, 2008 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

    Well I(Frank) still live in sweden during the summer and winter breaks, but i study in Santa Barbara, CA. Where in Cali do you live?

  2. Posted August 13, 2008 at 8:28 pm | Permalink

    That logo really is intriguing — it bears no resemblance to a graffiti tag, which sets it apart from most hip hop labels from the get go.

  3. Posted August 14, 2008 at 12:48 am | Permalink

    I really like clipse too (grindin= one of the most infectious/illest beats ever). The logo is nice hopefully this label won’t end up the same way So many other hip-hop labels do.

    Oh, and have you seen Andre 3000’s line? It think it’s called Benjamin Bixby. It’s extremely good. But Andre doesn’t really have the typical hip-hop style either.

  4. Posted August 14, 2008 at 3:31 am | Permalink

    Love Clipse, I’m so looking forward to their line. Although I’m still waiting to see Andre 3000’s and Lupe Fiasco’s line in full too!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

