Skip navigation

Levi’s 501 Shrink-To-Fit / Goodbye Summer

I’ve never paid more than $32 for a pair of jeans. I simply couldn’t afford it. Nevertheless, I’ve always managed to have jeans with a unique look and perfect fit. How? Before summer ends for you, like it is for me, I suggest you do this:

shrink to fit

Huntington Beach, CA.

  1. Buy Levi’s 501 Shrink-to-Fit jeans in your size.
  2. Wear them into a natural body of water.
  3. Keep them on until completely dry.

This is the old-school way to wear and care for jeans, and to me, there is no other way. Washing jeans by machine shrinks them to unknowable levels, and detergent chemicals alter the nature of the fibers. If you want perfect jeans, put the effort into caring for them the right way. If you want destroyed jeans (like the ones you see in stores for more than $30), put the effort into destroying them with integrity.

I, by principle, only wash my jeans in the ocean (in the aforementioned way). It gently mattes the shiny look while retaining the color and giving me a comfortable fit. Other bodies of water do different things. In my experience, freshwater results in softer jeans, and soaking in the bathtub causes more fading.

I can wear these jeans everywhere. My black ones even double as my great looking, perfect fitting slacks, giving me the comfort and confidence I need during social and networking events. No one ever seems to notice. I’m not saying it is acceptable to substitute when not appropriate, but if the rules aren’t clear cut, by all means be comfortable.

Of course, there’s a whole science to shrink-to-fit, and I’m committed to creating the definitive guide. Feel free to leave any comments / suggestions. And hold on to the summer, because it’s over before you know it.

One Comment

  1. Posted August 19, 2008 at 5:32 am | Permalink

    What, I had no idea that people washed their jeans in the ocean!! I don’t think that would work for me because my pants would feel too gritty with all the salt. I always have to use the showers after the beach because I hate the way the salt dries on my skin. Haha.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

