Skip navigation

Jesus Jones’ “Right Here, Right Now”

Take a look at this, kids:

jesus jones

I don’t know about you, but to me, despite the aged-looking photo, they look like your typical upper-middle class teenagers who enjoy skateboarding, loitering, and overpriced tees. But this picture is from 1990, and the people pictured are the indie-electronica rock band, Jesus Jones.

Not impressed?  Think about it.  Some guys eighteen years ago, or maybe just the guy on the left, dresses like kids today.  Skinny jeans, all-over-print shirt, fitted cap.  Its like stepping into a time machine and not realizing it.

It struck me funny when I saw the video for their song, “Right Here, Right Now” at my gym.  The first thing I noticed was what looked like an all-over-print LV hat.  And when I look at their style, it is so similar to what kids wear today.  And when I think about their musical style, I think about growing electronic trend in popular music and the rise of house.  It’s a two-decade parallel.

There is a disconnect, however, that disconcerts me.  And that is how when styles revive, they lose their essence, their soul. For instance, no one who dresses like a hippie today believes in wanton drug use and promiscuous sex with many anonymous partners to “be.” No “punk” is truly an anarchist who wants to overthrow the government.  That is, unless, they really are.  But that’s rare, and most other times, it’s just a style.

Now, I’m not knockin’ style–that’s what we write about.  We want to help each other solidify our own senses.  But looking back?…it’s a trip.

One Comment

  1. Posted August 25, 2008 at 8:22 am | Permalink

    I completely agree! when we bring back styles, we don’t bring back the mood and feel that they used to have. great post! =]


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

