Skip navigation

Moisturize Your Situation, Preserve Your Sexy

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

[Photo by Sean John Fragrances]

Nope, it’s not another spot for Proactiv. Diddy is cashing in on his strongest suit, the art of concocting fragrances (ha!). The fragrance is named “I Am King.” And the marketing is perfect for the superiority-complex-ridden demographic. His last fragrance did very well and everyone murmured about it as if it charted #1 on the eau de toilette box office, so I can’t say much about it. This makes me want to put some cologne on in my hotel room as I repeat, “King of the Castle. King of the Castle. I have a chair. King of the Castle.” Appropriate, no?

There’s a limited-edition box made of clear plastic that bears Combs’s loopy signature (that’s $100) as well as the jejune edition, which comes in cardboard and costs $57. In this product, Hampton sees not only the possibility of smelling nice but also being an agent for social change. As he explains to Janelle Grimmen of Vibe Magazine, “I Am King is about how everybody can be king. P. Diddy, for instance, grew up poor and he achieved his dreams.” Now that dream is available in a bottle, just like a genie.

A trio of women drink bubbly by the ice block carved into a table, on top of which mounds of caviar rest in wee ramekins. The woman with the clipboard is Stephanie Katzin, a pretty Gemini who works with Mr. Combs, just like Hampton does. She spouts the company line, too: “It’s about how everyone can be king.” Combs plans to roll out I Am Queen, too, though I Am Princess is not slated. “If he enters the teenage market, we have problems,” Katzin says. Think of the smelly teen hysterics. Diddlemania. Already Katzin, who at just 24 is barely out of teenagerdom herself, gets all swoony when discussing her interactions with Mr. Combs. “I walked in on him the other day, prepping for an interview,” she told me, “and he was changing. He was wearing a wife-beater. I was like, ‘Soooo….,’ ” says Katzin, widening her hazel eyes and averting her gaze to her clipboard. “I was nervous. I was very attracted to him.” An editor from Fashion Week Daily commiserated. “I would die. I would totally die.” Diddy scowls at us from the screen.

[Taken from The Moment]

It looks like Combs with a wife-beat on makes the ladies melt. He must have been wearing “I Am King.” OR “I Am King” is made out of his natural marathon-running sweat. Either way, we win if we dab it behind our ears and on our wrists.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

