Skip navigation

Detail Oriented: Tie Bars and Tie Pins

After checking out the detail shots for Rag and Bone’s latest Spring ’09 collection in New York, I was surprised to see that they have used a detail in their runway pieces that I have personally used in my own outfits in the past: a tie bar without the tie. It does not seem functional, and yet it shows a very keen attention to detail. For my own purposes, I don’t like to button the top button of my shirt without a tie. It’s too nerdy. But I also don’t like my shirt to spread too far apart at the chest/neck area, so I use the tie bar to bring the opposite ends of my shirt together. It adds that extra umph in these outfits.

Photobucket

Photobucket

For good measure, they use tie pins to hold the pocket square together. Funky.

Photobucket

Photobucket

[Photos by Don Ashby for Men.Style.com]

3 Comments

  1. Posted September 6, 2008 at 5:56 pm | Permalink

    Ooh, I didn’t notice these! That’s such a nice touch to an outfit, I especially like it holding the top together!

  2. emore
    Posted September 7, 2008 at 10:25 am | Permalink

    i like them putting that pin thru the tie. a very bold statement.

  3. Leigh
    Posted September 11, 2008 at 11:27 am | Permalink

    Ok, hello! I LOVE Rag & Bone and have been pining over a tailcoat that they featured a couple seasons back.

    I didn’t know you had a fashion blog, Fra–, I mean Cas. ; )

    I’m 2 years away from graduating with a degree in fashion design!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

