Skip navigation

The Great Reno Balloon Race

Photobucket

While missing New York Fashion Week is truly a tragic event, that did not stop us from attending other great events happening around us. Our world does not have to stop for Fashion Week! Instead, we decided to watch 50 or so hot air balloons grace the sky.

Truth be told, getting to the Great Reno Balloon Race is not an easy feat. There is not a long line of people willing to head out at 2 in the morning just to see some balloons. After a first failed attempt to watch the Saturday show- partly because I fell asleep and woke up at 5 a.m., and partly because almost everyone I asked had flaked for one reason or another -I was pretty sure my opportunity passed. I’d never been to the hot air balloon festival, but I couldn’t stop pacing enough to accept this. I know I HAD to see this or else I might not be able to see it ever again. I’m glad I did, because I got to add one more item to my list of the “most amazing things I’ve ever seen in my life.”

Photobucket

The eagle has taken flight

Photobucket

In the moments before the “Mass Ascension” (sounded real biblical when we read it off the program), the launching field was utter chaos. Everyone starts filling their balloons with air, and all you can do is spin 360 degrees to take it all in.

Photobucket

The friendly security guy told us that two balloons that bump into each other side to side is called a “kiss.” Two balloons that bump into each other top to bottom is called an “accident.” Zing!

Photobucket

Photobucket

The best part is when all the balloons are barely off the ground and they clump together in one huge clusterfook.

Photobucket

Always strive for something you’ve never seen before.

One Comment

  1. Richelle
    Posted September 8, 2008 at 9:20 pm | Permalink

    i would’ve gone w/ you!! next time you go (if there’s a next time), can i come along? this is one of those things in my lifetime i’d want to see/be a part of. glad you got to see it. (=


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

