Skip navigation

Janelle Monae featured in GQ

Photobucket

Have you ever seen that thing fall apart? I have, and I’ve seen it come back together again.

Photobucket

I try not to get hipster with Janelle Monae. Meaning, I try not to hate the fact that people are starting to discover her, after 2 years it seems. To be honest, I didn’t think that she was going to get any radio play (no one with a positive message gets radio play, except for maybe India Arie). And I was right. GQ has slightly made the mistake proclaiming that she’s hit the airwaves (No she hasn’t, not in my parts, at least.) Luckily, traditional radio is no longer regarded as the best way to find great music and she happens to have a huge internet following. I’m just really skeptical about her newfound fame. While today she’s gracing the pages of GQ, two years late, it could really just be the celebrity machine gobbling her up as one of the new it-girls of the day. Mind you, this is not a reflection of her incredible talent. But I’d hate to see her taken advantage of. She DID sign with Diddy, the man who made Danity Kane famous, the man who let countless other careers fall by the wayside (G-Dep, Mario Winans, Black Rob, and many more) while he collects a cool 30 million or so a year. It makes me wonder if he has Janelle Monae’s best interests in mind.

Oh well, at least she thought we looked sharp.

[Scans from The Sunday Best]

2 Comments

  1. Posted September 19, 2008 at 10:18 pm | Permalink

    i love this girl. she’s great.

  2. Posted September 20, 2008 at 6:20 am | Permalink

    I absolutely agree with you! I have found some of the best songs and artists ever via YouTube and the Net: Janelle, freshlyground, 2faceIdibia, Tinariwen, MLTR… had it not been for the internet, I never would have heard them, never would have enjoyed such wonderful music! By the way, I linked back to you from a Janelle post on my blog:

    http://dave-lucas.blogspot.com/2008/09/janelle-mone-one-hit-wonder-or.html


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

